So, where do you see yourself in 10 years ?

 
Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star
As a kid I had a real passion for designing clothes, fashion was and still is my biggest interest. Many would say, “Well yeah you’re a girl, it’s not a surprise.” but for me, this designing thing was a big deal, I had plans on how I’m going to make a success of myself and the steps I am going to take – the works. I just had this thing for not wanting to add colour to my designs, instead i would make notes regarding colours, material used, what you would wear it with … etc.


But then school came in and I had to prioritise, and being the nerd that I am, I chose to put school before designing, I’d still design here and there and got better with the years and then it all just hit a standstill, I haven’t designed anything this year which saddens me because I was getting really good.
I only discovered my passion for literature a year ago, and I thank the teacher that encouraged me to acknowledge, nurture and embrace it because I was those students who never knew (I actually still don’t know) what they wanted to study and which career path they’re going to follow.

So you’d think I have my mind set on studying literature, journalism or something along the lines of fashion and design, but no – my parents just do not see it that way, they’d rather have me studying something more rigid, something that will grant me financial security, I don’t know what it is really but it is frustrating knowing that I am going to have to settle for something that will have a great influence on my life, and then have to make sure I remind myself what my passion is by making it a hobby. Is it because my passion is insignificant or because I am incapable of making a career out of my passion, that my parents feel the need to disable me from pursuing it?

I’ve come to realise that you don’t have to go to school and study something in order for it to put bread on your table, but does it make sense to waste my parents’ money by going to school and studying something I won’t even make use of? My future – because of this is all a big blur, I know I want to make a success of myself in whatever career I land up in and I know for sure I want to live a comfortable life but do I want to do all of this in some sort of zombie mode? Mulling things over has become a tedious task for me, and I am now just waiting to see what the future has in store for me.

Xoxo, Lucy

2 thoughts on “So, where do you see yourself in 10 years ?

Leave a Reply

