Take me … everywhere

Daily Prompt: Pick Your Gadget
Your local electronics store has just started selling time machines, anywhere doors, and invisibility helmets. You can only afford one. Which of these do you buy, and why?

I was torn between the anywhere doors and the invisibility helmets, I don’t care much for the time machines because I’m a stern believer of living in the present, yes there are a few things in my past I wish were different or handled differently but going back into the past to fix those things would only make my life mundane, because there would be nothing to look back on, nothing to look forward to because I know I can mess up and go back into the past and fix my mistakes.

But how could I pass the opportunity to go anywhere, anytime, my wanderlust bug would finally begin treatment because I can finally travel whenever, wherever and I don’t even have to save up for the trip. This anywhere door would be my best friend at times when I just want to be left alone with my thoughts or at times when I just need a break.
I just remembered the Monsters Inc. movie, I don’t remember much and I won’t say much about it but instead of having so many doors to go to different places (well, different bedrooms), my anywhere door would just need my voice to tell it where to go, and of course an option to type out my final destination. Wouldn’t it be amazing though, like The Chronicles of Narnia where you go to a world completely different to the one you’re familiar with, unfortunately I have never watched a full The Chronicles of Narnia movie, I find the whole story line and setting interesting but you have to watch it from the beginning to understand what’s going on and I either catch it half way through or watch the first 45 minutes and then something comes up that I need to attend, I just went off topic but speaking of movies I’d like to finish off, The Lord of the Rings is one of them, I’ve only watched up to that scene where the trees decide it is best to go and fight in the war as well and those 2 elves or whatever they’re called are sitting on one of the trees, so much for reaching the climax for you not to be able to finish the movie/s. I can proudly say I’ve watched all the Harry Potter movies and I’m like a mega fan, I still watch them periodically because for some odd reason they make me feel better on a bad day, probably because I remember watching them with my family when growing up, and we’d all sit there and even though we’d know what’s going to be said, we’d laugh at the jokes.

Anyway, these anywhere doors are the future and I’m willing to wait, like five years (that should be enough, right? Or are people just not interested in such?), the science that’s going to have to go into those doors isn’t child’s play and needs experts, and it’s really going to be on an atomic level because in order to travel from here to there in a matter of seconds you’re going to have to be broken down into your little building blocks and remade again – the danger in that is extreme, it reminds me of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory where that boy zaps himself into the TV and when Willy Wonka explains the science behind all of that, it’s basically what I just said but he probably makes more sense.

I also don’t know why all these movies came to mind, I’m probably nostalgic.

Xoxo, Lucy

2 thoughts on “Take me … everywhere

Leave a Reply

