Doing things we know we should not be doing …

Daily Prompt:Flee
Damn you, Kryptonite. We all have our own versions of kryptonite and whether we are aware of its presence or not, one thing that’s certain is that it’s not good for us – so why the hell do we gravitate towards it?
I wouldn’t say feeling weak is addictive but I think, if you know that something or someone has the ability to make you feel weak, you’re okay with that. You know how the old saying goes, “better the devil you know than the devil you don’t”, knowing who or what your weakness is, is better than having none at all. What I mean is, walking around like some super human with your fancy cape and all, is admirable, but not knowing who or what triggers your weakness and how you overcome it, is basically leaving an open platform for those who are planning your downfall.

So in some weird and wonderful way I’m basically saying, your weakness could also be seen as your strength – but the line is toed when you have allowed, your weakness to weaken you to the point where you don’t even think you have strength anymore. When I refer to your weakness as a weird form of strength, I’m talking about the strength you find to build a bridge over this weakness and the strength to actually walk over it.

It’s so hard to walk away from certain things, it’s so easy for others not actually experiencing what you’re experiencing, to tell you to pack your things, leave and walk over that bridge. I find it much easier to keep things in, rather than let it all out because suddenly my issues are on display for the world to look at, not in admiration but with sympathy – and I loathe all forms of sympathy.
I guess that’s why many are willing to deal with their weakness’s nonsense because it is so hard to trust a stranger with delicate pieces of information. I’m not justifying the reasons why we become little puppets to our weaknesses, neither am I saying it is okay, but I am simply making others well aware that we all have our own forms of kryptonite, and just because you found the strength to overcome it, don’t look down on those who are still finding the courage to build a bridge. Instead be patient with them, the same way others were patient with you and in the same way you were patient with yourself.

Many people are just looking for a shoulder to cry on and an ear to listen, not a mouth to respond and a cold shoulder when in their opinion, they’re not listening to their advice. Most of the time, advice was not even asked for – it is hard to relate when it’s something you’re either not going through or if you have never been through something similar, that’s where empathy comes in.
Many (like me) would rather die in silence than have to talk about their issues – it is simpler that way, I’m not saying it is right, I am saying it works. People are just too judgemental and opinionated for me to risk being mocked and ridiculed.

So to everyone, who has mastered the art of putting on a brave face and leaving all your troubles at home – I salute you. You are the real MVP’s !

Xoxo Lucy

One thought on “Doing things we know we should not be doing …

Leave a Reply

